Most minor violations will drop off of your driving record after the grace period has expired. This means that even if you get a ticket for running a red light, speeding, or driving while talking on your phone
If you are concerned about your driving record and how minor violations will affect it in the future, contact us at 811 to explain what might happen.
We may be able to help you with this concern or at least put your mind at ease.
For a basic summary of a Connecticut driver’s license, including a history of traffic violations, check out the officer’s record sheet at the end of this article.
This document will tell you how long it will take for you to restore your driving privileges.
Some of the Traffic violations :
1. Failure to drive within a single lane
If you fail to drive within a single lane, this is called failure to keep right.
First-time offenders will receive a fine ranging from $145 for a first offense, $315 for a second offense, $495 for third and subsequent offenses.
Fines go up by $100 each time the violation occurs.
2. Failure to signal
If you fail to signal when turning, changing lanes, or other maneuvers, you will receive a ticket.
Fines range from $85 for failure to use your turn signal in private parking lots or toll highways to $150 for failure to use the signal while driving on state highways.
Fines go up by $40 each time the violation occurs.
3. Speeding 1-15 mph over the speed limit
Speeding is one of the most common traffic violations that occurs in Connecticut. Speeding tickets are issued when drivers violate any of Connecticut’s traffic laws governing speed limits and reckless driving.
The fine ranges from $85-$230 for any 1-15 mph over the limit, plus court fees if convicted. Fines are higher for speeding in school zones, work zones, on bridges, and on state highways.
4. Driving While Suspended or Revoked
Driving while suspended or revoked is the most common traffic violation that occurs in Connecticut.
This can be due to an unpaid fine, failing to appear in court for a previous ticket, but it could also be because of a recent moving violation.
First-time offenders will receive a $500 fine and their license will be suspended for 90 days; repeat offenders may face up to 6 months incarceration and additional fines.
You may apply for a Restricted Operator License (ROL) which allows you to drive only during the hours that the DMV has specified (between 6am and 8pm).
5. Driving without insurance
If you are stopped by the police and you do not have insurance, you will be forced to appear in court and pay a $750 fine.
You will be responsible for paying for the car accident out of pocket if you are found guilty of this violation. If your car is towed, you will need to pay for impoundment fees as well.
6. Driving without a license or with a revoked license
You can face criminal charges if you drive with an expired or revoked license.
The fines vary depending on your age and whether your license has expired for less than 3 months, 3-24 months, or more than 24 months.
You will receive a fine ranging from $185-$350 and your license will be suspended for 30 days if you are under 21 years of age.
7. Carrying more than one passengers under the age of 18
Drivers who carry more than one passenger under the age of 18 can be charged with a DUI offense, which is punishable by up to 5 years in jail.
8. Careless Driving
Driving under the influence can be punishable by up to 5 years in jail and a $1,000 fine. If you are convicted, your license can be suspended for one year.
You may also be charged with reckless driving in which you could receive up to 1 year in jail and a $1,000 fine. Your license could also be suspended for 30 days in this case.
9. State speed restrictions (40 miles per hour zones)
If you violate the State speed limit law, you will receive a traffic citation and may face criminal charges such as reckless driving or driving under the influence.
10. Tailgating or following too close,
If you are driving in front of another car that is driving too slowly, you will receive a ticket. If your car is tailgating another car, you can also receive a ticket. If the same thing occurs when following too closely, you will receive 2 tickets with fines ranging from $85-$135.