May 28, 2024

The official Rules of Academy Awards

The official Rules of  Academy Awards

This is the official rules for “the Oscars”. 

The Academy Awards are an accolade bestowed by

the Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences, a professional honorary organization, recognizing excellence in film making. 

They were first given in 1929. 

Hosted by Chris Rock and featuring performances by Josh Groban and Jennifer Lopez. 

The rules for the 85th Academy Awards, which took place on March 5, 2002,

included a number of significant changes from previous years. 

The most significant was a change in eligibility requirements relating to foreign films:

only those made after January 1, 1970 were required to be submitted to the Academy for consideration. 

In addition, all nominated films must be released

in Los Angeles County during the calendar year prior to submitting an entry. 

All other eligible films must be shown for at least seven consecutive days in Los Angeles County.

Any document submitted to the Academy is subject to the following rules:

The submission deadline for all eligible films was set at January 22, 2014 at 5:00 p.m. United States time (PT). 

The Academy announced that a record number of feature-length motion pictures

Submissions from each country will be judged by their respective academy or guild. 


Actor Chris Rock hosted for a second consecutive year. 

The accountants were Ernst & Young with Deloitte’s Tim Ryan and The Oscars’ Rick Rosas serving as supervising auditors.

The music was scheduled to be directed by Stephen Oremus, who was commissioned for his fourth job for the awards ceremony.

The nominations announced on January 22, 2015 in Beverly Hills, California were:

The Academy announced that there would be no segment recognizing the achievements of individuals who died in 2014, 

as there had been for every year since the first televised ceremony in 1953 with two exceptions —

an “In Memoriam” montage was presented in 2005, which honored 22 people including actress Lauren Bacall and actor Ronald Reagan, who both died that year;

and a tribute to those individuals included in the televised memorial montage segment

of the 80th Academy Awards telecast, which honored 61 people who died in 2016.

The Academy held its 4th Annual Governors Awards ceremony on November 14, 2015,

during which “In Memoriam” tributes were paid to the following people:


Academy Honorary Awards were presented to actor Kirk Douglas

and the film “Casablanca” (for its significant and lasting contribution to the motion picture industry), 

as well as posthumous awards for ILM’s pioneering virtual artistry and for her contributions in shaping American cinema. 

The Board of Governors also voted unanimously to

present composer Bernard Herrmann with an Honorary Academy Award for career achievements in film music.

The following individuals, listed in order of appearance, presented awards or performed musical numbers.

 After winning, Gaga walked off stage without thanking the other presenters (including Lohan and the Olsen twins).

The Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences launched an interactive website

in cooperation with Adobe to recognize and honor film technicians who have made

 a “significant contribution to the art of motion picture photography or cinematography”

For this category, there was no presentation at the 2016 ceremony

The following individuals presented awards or performed musical numbers:

“*Presenter is a winner of previous ceremony.”

Avatar for Aaron Finch

Aaron Finch

There are many labels that could be given to describe me, but one thing’s for certain: I am an entrepreneur with passion. Whether it's building websites and social media campaigns for new businesses or traveling the world on business trips - being entrepreneurs means constantly looking at yourself in a different light so as not get bored of your own success!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *